Paul Drude Medal


The "Paul Drude Medal" is a prize for young scientists, which has been awarded since 2009 by the "Arbeitskreis Ellipsometrie (AKE) - Paul Drude e. V." for outstanding contributions in the field of ellipsometric metrology or spectroscopy.

The prize is awarded at the "Workshop Ellipsometry" to a master or PhD student, or a PostDoc shortly after the doctorate who contributes an oral presentation.


Prizewinner 2023:
Ralfy Kenaz, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Jerusalem, Israel

Ralfy Kenaz won the prize for his contribution "Spectroscopic Micro-Ellipsometry with Sub-5 Microns Lateral Resolution and Simultaneous Broadband Acquisition at Multiple Angles for Thickness Mapping and Layer Number Identification of Exfoliated 2D Materials" at the 12th Workshop Ellipsometry in Prague (Czech Republic).


Prizewinner 2021:
Carola Emminger, New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, NM, USA and Masaryk University, Brno, Czech Republic

Carola Emminger won the prize for her contribution "Analysis of Femtosecond Pump-Probe Ellipsometry Data of Ge, Si, and InP" at the 11th Workshop Ellipsometry in Steyr (Austria).

Prizewinner 2018:
Steffen Richter, eli beamlines, Prague, Czech Republic

Steffen Richter won the prize for his contribution "fs-time-resolved spectroscopic ellipsometry" at the 10th Workshop Ellipsometry in Chemnitz (Germany).

Prizewinner 2015:
Andreas Furchner, Leibniz-Institut für Analytische Wissenschaften e.V. (ISAS), Berlin, Germany

Andreas Furchner won the prize for his contribution "In-situ IR ellipsometry" at the 9th Workshop Ellipsometry in Enschede (The Netherlands).

Prizewinner 2014:
Juliane Klamser, Otto-von-Guericke Universität Magdeburg, Germany

Juliane Klamser won the prize for her contribution "Generalized Ellipsometry of Semipolar AlGaN" at the 8th Workshop Ellipsometry in Dresden.

Prizewinner 2012:
Wojciech Ogiegło, University of Twente, The Netherlands

Wojciech Ogiegło won the prize in 2012 for his contribution "Superimposed effects of nano-scale confinement and penetrant on behavior of ultra-thin glassy polymer membranes" at the 7th Workshop Ellipsometry in Leipzig.


Prizewinner 2011:
Daniel Schmidt, University of Nebrasca-Lincoln, United States

Daniel Schmidt won the prize in 2011 for his contribution "Spectroscopic Ellipsometry of Sculptured Thin Films made by Glancing Angle Deposition" at the 6th Workshop Ellipsometry in Berlin.

Prizewinner 2009:
Eva Bittrich, Leibniz-Insitut für Polymerforschung e.V. (IPF), Dresden, Germany

Eva Bittrich won the prize in 2009 for her work „Application of in-situ vis-ellipsometry for the investigation of stimuliresponsive polymer brushes and adsorption processes thereon" at the 5th Workshop Ellipsometry in Zweibrücken.